创始医生在澳大利亚日受到荣誉表彰

ICON 作者

Paul Eliadis 医生荣获澳大利亚勋章成员奖

ICON 癌症中心共同创始人兼血液科医生 Paul Eliadis 医生因其作为临床血液科医生提供的卓越医疗服务以及参与的慈善活动,荣获澳大利亚勋章成员奖。为了表彰这一荣誉,我们回顾了他的职业生涯重要时刻以及对社区的诸多贡献。

Eliadis 医生在整个职业生涯中一直在照顾患者并在他们生活中最困难的时期为其家人提供支持。在看到提升癌症诊疗方式的机会后,1988 年,Eliadis 医生与 Ian Bunce 医生和 Trevor Olsen 医生一起在昆士兰州布里斯班的Wesley医院创立了澳大利亚血液和肿瘤临床诊所 (HOCA)。他们是昆士兰肿瘤学私人执业的真正开创者,在仅有公立医院提供癌症医疗服务的时期建立了 HOCA。他们离开公立机构,并利用其丰富的临床经验和研究来开发个性化的诊疗方法,为提升医疗服务标准奠定了基础。

HOCA 随后发展为四家日间肿瘤医院,每年为数千名肿瘤患者和血液病患者提供世界一流的医疗服务,并塑造了今天的格局——一家致力于在全球范围内提升癌症医疗的国际跨学科集团。

在他的整个职业生涯中,Eliadis 医生曾担任过多个临床职务,包括:Wesley医院医疗咨询委员会委员、Wesley医院质量保证委员会委员、凯恩斯私立医院临床血液和肿瘤科客座专科医生,以及邦德大学健康科学与医学系副教授。他还是澳大拉西亚皇家内科医学院院士和澳大利亚皇家病理学院院士,并且是多个行业组织的成员,包括:澳大利亚血液病学会、美国血液病学会、美国临床肿瘤学会、欧洲内科肿瘤学会、澳大拉西亚输血学会和澳大利亚临床肿瘤学会。

除了致力于医疗事业以及对私人肿瘤学和癌症研究的发展做出贡献之外,Eliadis 医生还继续发展艺术事业并无私地回报社会。

2013 年,他创立了 Eliadis 基金会,这是一个私人附属基金,旨在永久支持昆士兰大学古典文学和古代史专业。

其主要目的是提供一个未来愿景,使昆士兰大学古典文学和古代史的教学和研究项目在澳大利亚高等教育中占据突出地位,并通过提供学术、研究、教学和组织领导来实现这一愿景,从而扩大研究成果,加大外部资金支持力度,建设研究生文化,拓宽本科教学基地。

Eliadis 基金会也旨在支持医学和艺术领域,而 Eliadis 医生已为这些领域提供了私人支持。

“我相信艺术和经典是理解当代问题不可或缺的部分,” Eliadis 医生说。

“我很幸运能够给予回报,这笔捐赠对我来说意义非凡。知道这些资金可以帮助学生蓬勃发展,促进他们对经典的继续学习,带给我很大的欣慰。我希望我们的子孙后代都能享受到这种乐趣。”

出于对艺术和文化的热情,Eliaidis 医生于 2017 年将 Easton Pearson 藏品全部捐赠给了布里斯班博物馆,以期能世代共赏。

Eliadis 医生拥有超过 35 年的职业生涯,并继续为癌症诊疗和血液病学领域专业人员以及未来的医生和艺术专业学生的生活带来深远的影响。这一应得的荣誉是他令人尊敬的职业生涯中又一个里程碑。

“当我看到一个好的机会时,我就会去争取。我一生都致力于医学和艺术,我相信这些学科是相辅相成的。医学具有艺术性的一面,是科学的,但也有人类的真实面。作为一名医生,我想了解我的患者,并确保他们能获得最好的照顾……如果我们能够做一些最终为社区做出贡献的事情,无论我们是谁,那都是值得的。”

查看全部 新闻

查找

联系我们

Cancer Services - Australia / 28 Jan, 2020

Founding doctor recognised in Australia Day Honours

Icon Writers

Dr Paul Eliadis appointed a Member of the Order of Australia

Icon Cancer Centre Co-Founder and Haematologist, Dr Paul Eliadis has been honoured with a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his significant service to medicine as a clinical Haematologist and to charitable initiatives. In recognition of this honour, we look back at his career highlights and extensive contribution to the community.

Dr Eliadis has spent his entire career caring for patients and supporting their families through what can often be the most difficult time in their lives. Seeing an opportunity to improve how cancer care could be delivered, in 1988, Dr Eliadis, alongside Drs Ian Bunce and Trevor Olsen founded Haematology and Oncology Clinics of Australia (HOCA) at The Wesley Hospital in Brisbane, Queensland. They were true pioneers of private oncology practice in Queensland, establishing HOCA during a time where cancer care was only delivered in the public setting. Leaving the public sphere and utilising their depth of clinical experience and research to develop a personalised approach to care would form the foundations of setting a new standard of care. This saw HOCA expand to four oncology day hospitals delivering world-class care to thousands of cancer and blood disorder patients annually; and becoming what it is today – an international multidisciplinary group all working to improve cancer care globally.

Throughout his career, Dr Eliadis has held several clinical positions including: member of the Wesley Hospital’s Medical Advisory Committee, member of Wesley Hospital Quality Assurance Committee, Visiting Medical Officer in Clinical Haematology and Medical Oncology at Cairns Private Hospital, and Associate Professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine at Bond University. He is also a fellow of Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and the Royal College of Pathologists of Australia and member on several industry groups including: Haematology Society of Australia, American Society for Haematology, American Society of Clinical Oncology, European Society for Medical Oncology, Australasian Society for Blood Transfusion and Clinical Oncological Society of Australia.

Alongside his commitment to healthcare and paramount contribution to the evolution of private oncology and cancer research, Dr Eliadis has continued to enrich the arts and give back in spades.

In 2013, he founded The Eliadis Foundation – a private ancillary fund established to support in perpetuity a Professorial Chair of Classics and Ancient History at the University of Queensland (UQ). The Chair’s primary purpose is to provide a future vision that will give teaching and research programs in Classics and Ancient History at UQ an outstanding profile within Australian higher education and implement this vision by offering academic, research, teaching and organisational leadership that will expand research output, increase external funding support, build postgraduate culture and broaden the undergraduate teaching base. The Eliadis Foundation was also established to support Medicine and the Arts, areas that Dr Eliadis has already supported personally.

“I believe the arts and the classics is integral to understanding contemporary issues. I’m fortunate enough to be in a position to give back, and this donation was very important to me. Knowing that it’s helping to students thrive and promoting the continued learning of classic is a comfort and I hope to see can be enjoyed for generations to come,” said Dr Eliadis.

In line with his passion for the arts and culture, in 2017, Dr Eliaidis donated the entire Easton Pearson collection to the Museum of Brisbane in the hopes it could be appreciated for generations.

With a career spanning over 35 years, Dr Eliadis continues to make a difference in the lives of so many people both within cancer care and haematology, and for future doctors and arts students. This deserving honour is yet another milestone in his formidable career.

“When I see a good opportunity I go for it. I’ve spent my life in medicine and arts, disciplines that I believe go hand in hand. There is an artistic side to medicine, it’s scientific, but there is also a real human aspect. As a doctor, I want to understand my patients and ensure they are cared for in the best way possible … If we can do something that ultimately contributes to the community – no matter who we are – that is worthwhile.”

Back to News

Search

Contact us