研究/临床试验 / 09 11月, 2020

ICON集团启动澳大利亚首例新型前列腺癌精准治疗研究

ICON 作者

澳大利亚首个针对维多利亚州男性近距离放射治疗的研究

前列腺癌是维多利亚州男性最常见的癌症,约占所有癌症类型中三分之一(27%)的病例,并且新发病例每年都在增加。1 对许多男性来说,前列腺癌的治疗会带来严重的副作用,包括尿失禁和性功能障碍,伴随着情绪的困扰,癌症的诊断和治疗都会造成影响。ICON癌症中心在澳大利亚首次与Epworth Healthcare合作推出LIBERATE临床注册,旨在支持前列腺癌患者使用新型精准局部近距离放射治疗,并减少副作用以保持他们的生活质量。

局部近距离放射治疗是一种高靶向性技术,能将微小的放射性粒子直接植入前列腺癌变区域。这些粒子能在短时间内释放出放射线以摧毁癌细胞。与传统的近距离放射治疗不同,粒子被植入肿瘤而不是整个前列腺,这样可以保留前列腺的健康组织并尽量减小副作用。

ICON的LIBERATE 临床注册将与Epworth Healthcare合作,在ICON癌症中心(Richmond)ICON癌症中心(Freemasons)对接受低至中等风险前列腺癌局部近距离放射治疗的男性患者进行监测。注册制的推行将使得能够在未来五年中来确定治疗对长期生活质量和癌症控制率的影响。

今年64岁的Andrew Dalton在2019年首次被诊断出患有前列腺癌,此前他进行了常规血液测试,PSA读数为4.9。随后Andrew被转诊到泌尿科专科医生并得知由于他的肿瘤为局部病变,且发现时尚在早期,非常适合在Epworth Freemasons 医院内的ICON癌症中心(Freemasons)接受局部近距离放射治疗。

“当我得到活检结果,他们告诉我我的情况非常适合接受这种新型治疗,我感觉上天开始眷顾我了。我一点也不担心,这种技术仅针对肿瘤进行精准治疗,并尽可能保留前列腺的功能。如果其他患者有幸像我一样适合接受局部近距离放射治疗,他们将不再需要接受前列腺切除术或其他侵袭性更高的治疗。即使治疗不成功,这些替代治疗方法仍然是可行的,”Dalton先生表示。

Epworth医疗泌尿科副教授Jeremy Grummet指出,由于诊断成像技术的不断进步,尖端治疗方法已成为可能。

“全腺体粒子近距离放射治疗已有40多年的历史,并且有大量的证据表明其长期的安全性和有效性。而现在,凭借我们高质量的成像设备,我们可以精确定位肿瘤的确切位置,并直接向肿瘤内注入放射性粒子,以进一步减少这种治疗方法对勃起、膀胱和肠道功能的影响,”Grummet副教授说到。

对Andrew来说,避免传统治疗对整个前列腺的副作用非常重要。他期待着参与这项研究,帮助前列腺癌患者获得先进的治疗,未来无需再面临难以管理的副作用。

“我今年64岁,但即使我已经90岁高龄,我仍然不愿意发生尿失禁或面临其他严重的副作用。局部近距离放射治疗对我而言轻松了许多,我不必再在治疗过程中承受更多煎熬了。事实上,我只在第一个月疗程中有一些轻微不适和瘀伤,但一切很快恢复了正常。我的生活并没有发生改变,”Dalton先生说到。

局部近距离放射治疗是一种侵袭性较小的治疗方法 ,通常需要一天的时间。ICON癌症中心肿瘤放疗科医生Andrew See医生说道,这种先进的治疗方法可以帮助男性迅速恢复正常生活,而不会产生额外的副作用,同时在治疗完成后的三个月内能够积极对抗癌细胞。

“这种治疗方法的最棒的地方在于,患者在几小时的治疗完成后走出诊所,便能恢复正常生活,而效果将持续达100天。我在前列腺癌的近距离放射治疗方面有20多年的经验,我很高兴看到由于局部近距离放射治疗的进展,男性面临的副作用减少了。”See医生表示。

“至关重要的是,我们继续提供能为所有患者带来福音的治疗方法,并开展试验,为最佳实践提供有力的证据。我们希望这项研究能为成千上万的前列腺癌患者提供早期诊断,并希望他们即使经历治疗也能维持良好的生活质量。”

ICON癌症中心在癌症研究方面有着悠久的历史,目前在澳大利亚运营着规模最大的私人癌症临床试验项目。通过我们专业研究部门的深度和经验,我们支持患者和临床医生获得制药行业赞助的临床试验、与大学或以健康医疗为重点的组织合作开展的合作研究,研究者发起了由ICON癌症基金会赞助的研究。

参考文献

如需查看完整的参考文献列表,请点击此处。
  1. Thursfield V, Farrugia H. Cancer in Victoria: Statistics & Trends 2016. Cancer Council Victoria, Melbourne 2017
  2. Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia. (2020). Prostate cancer in Australia – what do the numbers tell us? Retrieved on 14 September 2020 from https://www.prostate.org.au/news-media/news/prostate-cancer-in-australia-what-do-the-numbers-tell-us/
查看全部 新闻

查找

联系我们

Research / Clinical Trials / 09 Nov, 2020

Icon Group launches Australian-first study on new precision prostate cancer treatment

Icon Writers

Australian-first study on focal brachytherapy launches for Victorian men

Prostate cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed in Victorian men, accounting for around a third (27%) of cases, with the number of new cases increasing each year.1 For many men, prostate cancer treatment involves significant side effects including urinary incontinence and sexual dysfunction, along with the emotional distress both a cancer diagnosis and the impact of treatment can cause. In an Australian first, Icon Cancer Centre is proud to launch the LIBERATE clinical registry in partnership with Epworth Healthcare, which aims to support the use of new precision focal brachytherapy for men with prostate cancer and reduce side effects to preserve their quality of life.

Focal brachytherapy is a highly-targeted technique which involves the implantation of small radioactive seeds directly into the cancerous area of the prostate. These seeds deliver radiation to destroy the cancer over a short period of time. Unlike traditional brachytherapy, the seeds are placed into the tumour rather than the whole prostate, preserving the rest of the prostate gland and limiting side effects.

Icon’s LIBERATE clinical registry will monitor men who have undergone focal brachytherapy for low to intermediate risk prostate cancer at Icon Cancer Centre Richmond and Icon Cancer Centre Freemasons in collaboration with Epworth Healthcare. The registry will span across a five year period to determine the effects of treatment on long term quality of life and rates of cancer control.

64-year-old Andrew Dalton was first diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2019, following a regular blood test which returned a PSA reading of 4.9. After referral to a urologist, Andrew was told that because his cancer was localised and found at an early stage, he was a perfect candidate for focal brachytherapy at Icon Cancer Centre Freemasons within Epworth Freemasons Hospital.

“When I got the biopsy results and was told this treatment was an option, that was when my luck changed. I had no worries at all, it just makes sense to treat the tumour itself and preserve the function of the prostate as much as possible. If you are lucky enough to be eligible for focal brachytherapy as I was, you don’t need to consider prostatectomy or more aggressive treatment, and even if the treatment isn’t successful these alternative approaches to treatment are all still available,” Mr Dalton said.

Epworth Healthcare Urologist Associate Professor Jeremy Grummet says the cutting-edge treatment has been made possible due to continued advances in diagnostic imaging technology.

“Whole gland seed brachytherapy has been available for over 40 years and is supported by a considerable body of evidence attesting to its long term-safety and efficacy. But now, with the quality of our imaging equipment, we can pinpoint the exact location of the tumour and directly administer radioactive seeds into the tumour, further reducing the impact this treatment has on erectile, bladder and bowel function,” A/Prof Grummet said.

For Andrew, avoiding side effects from traditional treatments to the whole prostate was very important. He looks forward to participating in the study and helping prostate cancer patients access advanced treatment without facing difficult side effects in the future.

“I’m 64 but even if I was 90, I would still hate to be incontinent or face such difficult side effects. The whole focal brachytherapy treatment has been easy. If you erased my memory of the day of the procedure, I still wouldn’t know I had an operation. There was a little discomfort and bruising in the first month but everything quickly returned to normal; life hasn’t changed for me,” Mr Dalton said.

Focal brachytherapy is a minimally invasive procedure which requires a single day surgery. Icon Cancer Centre Radiation Oncologist Dr Andrew See says the advanced treatment helps men quickly return to normal life without additional side effects, while actively fighting the cancerous cells for up to three months after the surgical treatment.

“The brilliant thing about this treatment is that the men walk out of the clinic a few hours later and return to normal life, but the effect continues for up to 100 days. With over 20 years’ experience in brachytherapy treatment for prostate cancer, I am pleased to now see men face fewer side effects thanks to focal brachytherapy,” Dr See said.

“It is critical we continue to provide treatments that benefit all patients and develop trials that build robust evidence for best practice. We hope this study will provide thousands of men living with an early prostate cancer diagnosis hope that they can maintain a good quality of life even through treatment.”

Icon Cancer Centre has a strong history of cancer research and now operates the largest private cancer clinical trials program in Australia. Through the depth and experience of our dedicated research arm, we are proud to support patients and clinicians with access to clinical trials sponsored by the pharmaceutical industry, collaborative studies undertaken in partnership with universities or health focused organisations, and investigator initiated research sponsored by Icon Cancer Foundation.

References

For a full list of references, click here.
  1. Thursfield V, Farrugia H. Cancer in Victoria: Statistics & Trends 2016. Cancer Council Victoria, Melbourne 2017
  2. Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia. (2020). Prostate cancer in Australia – what do the numbers tell us? Retrieved on 14 September 2020 from https://www.prostate.org.au/news-media/news/prostate-cancer-in-australia-what-do-the-numbers-tell-us/
Back to News

Search

Contact us