布里斯班首家引入头皮冷却系统

ICON 作者

对于许多癌症患者来说,脱发是治疗中易令人产生情绪的副作用。

ICON集团将成为布里斯班首家引入Paxman头皮冷却系统的公司。这家公司是公认的减少化疗所致脱发的世界领先者。

Paxman头皮冷却系统目前在全世界32个国家使用,包括英国和欧洲国家。该服务很快将向ICON癌症中心的患者提供,Wesley中心将是首家中心。

许多化疗药物起作用的方式是针对体内快速分裂的细胞。毛发就是其中之一,化疗药物会直接伤害毛囊,导致脱发。这种脱发可以通过使用头皮降温或“冷却盖”来缓解。该系统的工作原理是在化疗前、化疗期间和化疗后立即将患者头皮温度降低几度。降温效果减少了流向毛囊的血液流动,因此可以最大限度地减少脱发。

创新的Paxman头皮冷却系统可用于乳腺癌和其他实体瘤患者,这些患者正在接受多西他赛、环磷酰胺和阿霉素等化疗药物的治疗。

对于ICON癌症医疗服务的首席执行官Jim Frantzis而言,这种头皮冷却系统将使许多患者受益。

“对于接受化疗的患者来说,脱发是一种非常易令人情绪化的体验。对于合适的患者来说,这个系统可以减少与治疗副作用相关的痛苦,对维护患者的自尊和尊严有积极的影响。”

了解最新的技术和治疗方法是集团提供世界级癌症医疗服务的价值观和承诺的关键部分。

ICON集团首席执行官Mark Middleton表示:“投资Paxman头皮冷却系统等创新技术,进一步证明了我们不仅致力于提供最好的癌症医疗服务,而且在治疗的各个方面支持我们的患者。”

该系统的有效性因患者而异,取决于治疗方法和癌症类型,以及其他因素,如先前的化疗方案、年龄和民族。内科专科医生将能够确定该系统是否适合他们的患者。

ICON癌症中心(Wesley)将拥有一个可同时治疗两名患者的治疗单元,每周可为10至20名患者提供治疗。该系统将作为Wesley中心癌症患者的辅助治疗提供,不额外收取费用。

关于Paxman头皮冷却系统的更多信息,请访问网站http://paxmanscalpcooling.com/

关于综合临床作用报告,请访问http://paxmanscalpcooling.com/the-system/clinical-efficacy

查看全部 新闻

查找

联系我们

Cancer Services - Australia / 10 Nov, 2016

First in Brisbane to Introduce Scalp Cooling System

Icon Writers

For many cancer patients, hair loss is a deeply emotional side effect of treatment. Icon Group will be the first in Brisbane to introduce the Paxman Scalp Cooling System; a recognised world leader in reducing hair loss caused by chemotherapy treatment.

The Paxman Scalp Cooling System is currently used across 32 countries worldwide, including the United Kingdom and European countries, and will soon be available to Icon Cancer Care patients, with the Wesley centre to be the first.

Many chemotherapy drugs work by targeting rapidly dividing cells in the body. Hair is one of these, and the chemotherapy drugs can cause hair loss by directly harming the hair follicles. This hair loss can be alleviated by using scalp cooling, or ‘cold caps’. The system works by reducing the temperature of the patient’s scalp by a few degrees immediately before, during and after the administration of chemotherapy. The cooling effect reduces the blood flow to hair follicles and can therefore minimise hair loss.

The innovative Paxman scalp cooling system can be used for patients with breast and other solid tumour cancers being treated with certain chemotherapy drugs such as docetaxel, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin.

For Icon Cancer Care CEO Jim Frantzis this scalp cooling system will advantage a number of patients.

“Hair loss can be a very emotional experience for patients undergoing chemotherapy. For suitable patients, this system can reduce the distress that is associated with the side effects of treatment and have a positive impact in maintaining a patient’s self-esteem and dignity.”

Keeping abreast of the latest technology and treatment is a key part of the Group’s values and commitment to providing world-class cancer care.

“Investing in innovations like the Paxman scalp cooling system is further testament to our commitment to not only deliver the best cancer care but to also support our patients in every aspect of their treatment,” said Icon Group CEO Mark Middleton.

Effectiveness of the system varies from patient to patient depending on type of treatment and cancer, and other factors such as prior chemotherapy regimes, age and ethnicity. The medical specialist will be able to determine if the system is suitable for their patient.

Icon Cancer Care Wesley will have one treatment unit that can treat two patients simultaneously and will be able to treat between 10 to 20 patients a week. This system will be offered as an additional treatment to Icon Cancer Care patients at the Wesley centre at no extra cost.

For more information on The Paxman Scalp Cooling System visit their website http://paxmanscalpcooling.com/. For comprehensive clinical efficacy reports go to http://paxmanscalpcooling.com/the-system/clinical-efficacy

Back to News

Search

Contact us