癌症服务——澳大利亚 / 17 9月, 2020

ICON集团及麦凯Base医院宣布前列腺癌专科护士事宜

ICON 作者

引入当地专科护士支持,麦凯前列腺癌患者获益

根据联邦政府的前列腺癌护士计划,日前,ICON麦凯癌症中心和麦凯Base医院引进了一名前列腺癌专科护士,当地患有前列腺癌的男性及其家人将很快在整个癌症治疗过程中获得更大程度的支持。

这名护士将在ICON麦凯癌症中心和麦凯Base医院从事癌症治疗、外科手术和围手术期服务,为前列腺癌患者提供从诊断到治疗等所有护理领域的支持。

此前,澳大利亚政府投资 2300万澳元,通过澳大利亚前列腺癌基金会扩大前列腺癌护士计划,在全国各地的 24家医疗服务或癌症中心聘用护士。

ICON 集团医学总监和麦凯血液病科专家,Ian Irving 医生表示:护士将为前列腺癌患者及其家人发挥重要作用。这包括在治疗期间为患者提供持续的支持以帮助患者了解提供的服务、管理相关的副作用,以及获取有关癌症的可靠信息。

“研究发现,男性在前列腺癌诊断后往往不会主动寻求支持,然而这是他们最需要的时候。我们的前列腺癌专科护士将帮助这些患者和他们的至亲,通过个性化的医疗服务支持他们的个人需求,无论他们在癌症之旅的哪一个阶段,都能更从容地面对这一充满挑战的经历。

PCFA首席执行官,Jeff Dunn AO教授称赞ICON癌症中心和麦凯Base医院为麦凯男性和前列腺癌患者家庭提供个性化的医疗服务。

“大约五分之一的前列腺癌患者会经历长期的焦虑和抑郁,有些人自杀的风险会增加,尽管很少有人寻求心理健康方面的支持,”他表示。

“我们很荣幸能与ICON癌症中心和麦凯Base医院合作,资助新的专科护士。他们能为患者提供个性化的指导、护理和支持。”

麦凯医院和健康服务中心以及麦凯Base医院将共同增加一名前列腺癌临床专科护士。

从诊断起,护士将提供有关治疗计划的教育和信息,并包括如何获得医院和社区的服务,以成为男性和家庭的持续联系点和支持点。

麦凯医院和健康服务中心的首席执行官 Jo Whitehead 说:“我们很高兴与我们的合作伙伴分享这一职位,这将确保受前列腺癌影响的人们在从诊断到治疗和恢复的过程中拥有更平稳的旅程。”

“这种支持会减轻患者及其亲人的负担。我们知道,良好的支持和对信息及服务的可及性与医学治疗同样重要。”

PCFA 护理计划总监,Sally Sara表示ICON癌症中心和麦凯Base医院的努力将很大程度上改善对受该疾病影响的麦凯男性和家庭提供的支持。

“患者很难理解他们的治疗方案,许多人无法获取有关手术、化疗,以及放疗或激素治疗利弊的循证信息,”她表示。

“我们的新专科护士将成为 ICON癌症中心和麦凯 Base 医院团队的一个很好的补充,为当地男性带来更多信心。通过获得所需的支持,他们可以应对前列腺癌的挑战。”

预测表明,到 2040 年,将有 372000 名澳大利亚男性患有前列腺癌。这一数字代表将在现在的基础上增长 68% (现为220000 ),并且是被诊断为单一癌症的男女性中,数量最多的一种。

为了给这些男性和更广泛的社区提供支持,ICON麦凯癌症中心 自2018年开放以来,为患者提供了卓越且价格合理的癌症医疗服务,并免去了等待名单。提供的医疗服务包括化疗、放射治疗以及对血液紊乱疾病的治疗。中心致力于提供最新的前沿技术,以最有效的方式更好地针对和治疗癌症,同时患者不必长途跋涉,就能够获得他们所需要的医疗服务。

查看全部 新闻

查找

联系我们

Cancer Services - Australia / 17 Sep, 2020

Icon Group and Mackay Base Hospital announce specialist prostate cancer nurse

Icon Writers

Mackay prostate cancer patients to benefit from specialist support with introduction of local prostate cancer nurse

Local men with prostate cancer and their families will soon have access to a greater level of support throughout their cancer treatment, following the introduction of a prostate cancer specialist nurse at Icon Cancer Centre Mackay and Mackay Base Hospital under the Federal Government’s Prostate Cancer Nurses Program.

The nurse will work across cancer treatment, surgical and perioperative services at Icon Cancer Centre Mackay and Mackay Base Hospital to support prostate cancer patients in all areas of their care, from diagnosis through to treatment and beyond.

This comes following an investment of $23 million by the Government to expand the Prostate Cancer Nurses Program through the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia, with nurses to be employed at 24 health services or cancer centres across the country.

Icon Group Medical Director and Mackay Haematologist, Dr Ian Irving says the nurse will play an important role for men with prostate cancer and their families. This includes providing patients with ongoing support during their treatment to navigate available services, manage treatment-related side effects and access reliable information about their cancer.

“Research has found that men often don’t seek support following a prostate cancer diagnosis, which is a time when they need it most. Our prostate cancer nurse will help make this challenging experience easier for these men and their loved ones by supporting their individual needs with personalised care, wherever they are in their cancer journey.”

PCFA CEO, Professor Jeff Dunn AO, commended Icon Cancer Centre and Mackay Base Hospital for delivering personalised care for Mackay men and families impacted by prostate cancer.

“About one in five men with prostate cancer experience long-term anxiety and depression and some will have an increased risk of suicide, although few seek support for their mental health needs,” he said.

“We’re proud to partner with Icon Cancer Centre and Mackay Base Hospital to fund a new Specialist Nurse who can provide personalised guidance, care and support.”

Mackay Hospital and Health Service welcomes the shared addition of a prostate cancer Clinical Nurse Specialist at Mackay Base Hospital.

From the point of diagnosis, the nurse will provide education and information about treatment plans, how to access services both in the hospital and community and be an ongoing point of contact and support for men and families.

“We are delighted to share this position with our partners in healthcare and it will ensure that people affected by prostate cancer have a smoother journey as they progress from diagnosis to treatment and recovery,” Mackay Hospital and Health Service Chief Executive Jo Whitehead said.

“This guiding hand will lighten the load of patients and their loved ones. We know that good support and connection to information and services is as important as the medical treatment.”

PCFA’s Director of Nursing Programs, Sally Sara, said Icon Cancer Centre and Mackay Base Hospital’s commitment would vastly improve the support on offer to Mackay men and families impacted by the disease.

“It’s common for patients to struggle with understanding their treatment options and many are unable to access evidence-based information about the pros and cons of surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation treatment or hormonal therapy,” she said.

“Our new specialist nurse will be a wonderful addition to the Icon Cancer Centre and Mackay Base Hospital team, giving local men much greater confidence that they can navigate the challenges of prostate cancer with all the support they need.”

Forecasts suggest by 2040 there will be 372 000 men living with or beyond prostate cancer in Australia, representing a 68 per cent increase from 220 000 today and the greatest number of men or women diagnosed with any single cancer.

In support of these men and the wider community, Icon Cancer Centre Mackay have proudly provided exceptional and affordable cancer care with no wait list since opening in 2018, including chemotherapy, radiation therapy and treatment for blood disorders. The centre is committed to offering the latest, cutting-edge technology available to better target and treat cancer in the most effective way while saving patients from travelling long distances to access the care they need.

Back to News

Search

Contact us