研究/临床试验 / 29 10月, 2020

通过大型收购扩大癌症研究能力,使澳大利亚各地的患者受益

ICON 作者

ICON集团通过收购Ashford癌症中心研究所扩大癌症研究能力

澳大利亚最大的私营癌症研究机构ICON集团已经完成了对Ashford癌症中心研究所的收购。Ashford癌症中心研究所提供南澳领先的私营癌症临床试验项目,以改善澳大利亚各地更多癌症患者参与临床试验的机会。

ICON集团和Ashford癌症中心研究所拥有超过45年的血液学和肿瘤学研究经验,参与了超过585项临床试验,支持来自南澳和全国的2900名癌症患者参与癌症研究。

收购Ashford癌症中心研究所是ICON在澳大利亚扩张业务所迈出的又一步,以期通过临床试验缩小在获得先进癌症治疗方面的差距。经过此次收购,临床试验项目将从目前的150个增至250余个,有能力支持更多患者参与血液学、内科肿瘤学和放射肿瘤学的临床试验。

ICON集团研究总监John Bashford医生表示,此次收购将进一步增强ICON的实力,使患者能够获得癌症治疗方面的新进展,并彻底改变未来的治疗方式。

“ACCR和ICON分别代表了澳大利亚最大的两家私人研究机构。通过合作,我们将现有的研究能力提高了50%,确保我们有更大的能力研究世界上最具创新性的治疗方法,并将这些临床试验引入南澳大利亚,同时支持我们进入西澳大利亚和维多利亚州,”Bashford医生说。

“我们最大的机会在于优势互补。ICON集团提供昆士兰州规模最大的一期肿瘤试验项目,75%的试验集中在免疫治疗领域,而Ashford癌症研究中心开放招募的临床试验中,48%是二期和三期试验。我们期待着继续在第一期提供广泛的创新性临床试验,同时进一步扩大我们的第二和第三阶段临床试验,以改善澳大利亚和其他地区的癌症诊疗。”

Ashford癌症中心研究联合创始人兼临床研究总监DusanKotasek副教授说,与ICON集团的合作是多年合作达到的高潮,也是通过临床试验为所有患者提供希望和机会的共同承诺。

“我们很高兴与ICON集团合作,支持他们在南澳大利亚的扩张。这种合作伙伴关系将加强我们提供卓越医疗服务的能力,并维持澳大利亚血液学、肿瘤学和放射治疗研究的未来发展。我们期待着与ICON一起达成使命,支持尽可能多的患者通过参与最新的临床研究来引导他们的抗癌之旅。”Kotasek副教授表示。

“对于每年被诊断为癌症的许多澳大利亚人来说,研究在传统治疗方法无效或不合适的情况下发挥着重要作用。作为ICON集团的一员,我们很自豪现在能为澳大利亚和全世界癌症患者开发新的治疗方法,提供更高水平的支持。”

ICON集团在癌症研究方面有着悠久的历史,提供了一种制药和研究的综合方法,简化了临床试验的执行。ICON集团研究部执行者Sophie Mepham医生说,集团致力于持续改进质量,在卓越研究方面拥有无与伦比的能力。

“在ICON,我们很自豪有一个专门的药房作为研究部门的一部分,这是我们第一期临床试验计划的基石,使我们能够支持高质量的临床试验,以及我们的化疗药合成能力和最近推出的内部GCP培训计划,都是首屈一指的。”Mepham医生表示。

ICON集团在许多里程碑试验中一直是积极的参与者,这些试验在癌症治疗方面取得了重大进展,包括改变了Hercetin在乳腺癌患者中使用的开创性试验。

ICON集团最近的转化研究也反映了这一点,该研究发现,转移性前列腺癌的立体定向放射治疗可以将治疗进展推迟两年以上,这改变了全世界晚期前列腺癌患者的诊疗标准。

图为:Ashford癌症中心研究联合创始人Francis Parnis医生和ACCR团队

查看全部 新闻

查找

联系我们

Research / Clinical Trials / 29 Oct, 2020

Icon Group expands cancer research capabilities with major acquisition to benefit patients across Australia

Icon Writers

Icon Group expands cancer research capabilities with acquisition of Ashford Cancer Centre Research

Australia’s largest private cancer research provider Icon Group has completed the acquisition of Ashford Cancer Centre Research, who offer South Australia’s leading private cancer clinical trials program, to improve access to clinical trials for a greater number of cancer patients across Australia.

Together with more than 45 years’ experience in haematology and oncology research, Icon Group and Ashford Cancer Centre Research have been involved in over 585 clinical trials and supported 2 900 cancer patients from South Australia and across the country to access cancer research.

The acquisition of Ashford Cancer Centre Research represents another step forward in Icon’s expansion across Australia to close the gap in access to advanced cancer care treatments through clinical trials, as they increase their current clinical trial delivery from 150 trials to more than 250 with the capacity to support increased patient participation in clinical trials across haematology, medical oncology and radiation oncology.

Dr John Bashford, Director of Research at Icon Group, says the acquisition will further bolster Icon’s capability to offer patients access to new and emerging advances in cancer treatment, and revolutionise the way they are treated in the future.

“Individually, ACCR and Icon represent the two largest private providers of research in Australia. By coming together we are increasing our existing research capacity by 50%, ensuring we have greater capability to investigate the most innovative treatments in the world and bring these clinical trials into South Australia, while supporting our reach into Western Australia and Victoria,” Dr Bashford said.

“Our greatest opportunity lies in our complementary strengths. While Icon Group delivers Queensland’s largest Phase I oncology trial program, with 75% of trials focused on the growing area of immunotherapy, 48% of the clinical trials open to recruitment at Ashford Cancer Centre Research are Phase II and III trials. We look forward to continuing to deliver a wide breadth of innovative clinical trials across Phase I while further expanding our Phase II and III clinical trials to improve cancer care in Australia and beyond.”

Ashford Cancer Centre Research co-founder and Clinical Research Director A/Prof Dusan Kotasek says the partnership with Icon Group is the culmination of many years of working together and a shared commitment of providing hope and opportunity for all patients through clinical trials.

“We are delighted to have partnered with Icon Group to support their expansion within South Australia. This partnership will strengthen our capability to deliver exceptional care and sustain the future growth of haematology, oncology and radiation therapy research in Australia. We look forward to joining Icon on their mission to support as many patients as possible to navigate their individual cancer journeys through access to the latest in clinical research,” A/Prof Kotasek said.

“For the many Australians who are diagnosed with cancer each year, research plays an important role when traditional treatment methods aren’t effective or suitable. We are proud to now provide a greater level of support in the development of new and novel therapies for people with cancer in Australia and across the world as part of Icon Group.”

Icon Group has a strong history of cancer research, offering an integrated approach between pharmacy and research which streamlines the delivery of clinical trials. Icon Group Executive Manager of Research Dr Sophie Mepham says the Group’s commitment to quality and continual improvement provides an unrivalled capability in research excellence.

“At Icon we are proud to have a dedicated pharmacy as part of our research arm, which is the cornerstone of our Phase I clinical trial program. The edge that this gives us to support incredibly high-quality clinical trials, alongside our compounding capabilities and recently launched internal GCP training program, is second to none,” Dr Mepham said.

Icon Group has been an active contributor in a number of milestone trials that have seen significant advancements in cancer treatments, including the ground-breaking trial that changed the use of Herceptin in breast cancer patients.

This was also reflected in Icon Group’s recent TRANSFORM study, which found that stereotactic radiation therapy for metastatic prostate cancer can delay treatment progression for more than two years – changing the standard of care for men with advanced prostate cancer across the world.

Pictured: Ashford Cancer Centre Research co-founder Dr Francis Parnis and the ACCR team

Back to News

Search

Contact us